All News

Wheatland Electric Cooperative, Inc. (WEC) is proud to announce that 14 local high school seniors have been awarded a $1,000 scholarship each to continue their education.

Several of these seniors were recognized during WEC’s annual meeting and 75th anniversary celebration in Scott City, Kan., on April 26, 2023. 

Each year, WEC provides thirteen $1,000 scholarships to high school seniors who attend one of the thirteen high schools in WEC’s service territory, as well as one at-large scholarship for a student whose parent/guardian is a member of WEC, but does not attend one of the schools in WEC’s service territory.

A panel of the WEC Board of Trustees reviewed and selected all of the scholarship recipients.

“Wheatland Electric is committed to the leaders of tomorrow and is proud to award these scholarships to assist students in obtaining their educational goals,” said CEO/General Manager Bruce W. Mueller.

To learn more about our scholarship program, please visit our website. Questions may be addressed to Alli Conine, Director of Member Services & Corporate Communications at 620-874-4563 or

Congratulations to the following seniors on receipt of your scholarship and to your continued success:

Wesley Weishaar
Wesley Weishaar – Argonia High School
Payton Tull
Payton Tull – Garden City High School (At-Large)
Anniston Lee
Anniston Lee – Caldwell High School
Madison Haley
Madison Haley – Chaparral Jr./Sr. High School
Faith Stuhlsatz
Faith Stuhlsatz – Conway Springs High School
Audrey Musil
Audrey Musil – Deerfield High School
Nayomi Olivas
Nayomi Olivas – Great Bend High School
Karlyn Woelk
Karlyn Woelk – Greeley County Jr./Sr. High School
Kaya Bjurstrom
Kaya Bjurstrom – Holcomb High School
Teja Samuelson
Teja Samuelson – Norwich High School
Brooke Strine
Brooke Strine – Scott Community High School
Kamdyn Butler
Kamdyn Butler – South Haven High School
Yadira Moreno
Yadira Moreno  – Syracuse Jr./Sr. High School
Elise Whalen
Elise Whalen – Wichita County Jr./Sr. High School